English Surfing Federations - English Surf Team 2011

Huge crowds lined the headland at Tullan Strand for the final day of the EuroSurf 2011 Championships at Bundoran, Ireland. The English team were well represented with Sarah Beardmore (ladies open), Alan Stokes (mens open) and Ben Howarth (longboard) all making the finals. The 3ft to 4ft clean peaky waves meant that expectations were high for some outstanding surfing and the competitors certainly did not disappoint the watching crowds.

Sarah Beardmore stamped her authority over the three other finalists right from the outset of the ladies open final. Her first high scoring wave came just as the sound of the starting horn was fading away. Each time Sarah paddled back into the line up she dropped into yet another solid left hander which made it virtually impossible for the other finalists to overtake her high scores. Sarah who is the current British champion was clearly elated to win the European ladies title.

In the longboard final were Ben Howarth from North Devon and Ben Skinner who was representing the Channel Islands. The two British surfers dominated the heat with Ben Skinner taking full control with two stylish hang ten rides which rewarded him with very well deserved high scores. Ben Howarth also put on an impressive performance which kept the two French finalists at bay meaning Skinner took first place and Howarth taking second place. This was Ben Howarth’s first attempt at a European title and his noteworthy performances throughout the competition have put him firmly amongst the European elite.

Alan Stokes took to the water in the mens open final at low tide where the surf conditions were now less than favourable. Alan stuck to his game plan and thanks to his exceptional arial manoeuvre came away with 3rd place with Spain and Portugal taking first and second place respectively.

The Irish as expected put on a tremendous week of events culminating in the team prize giving ceremony. The English team were rewarded for their gritty performances throughout all divisions over the eight day event by picking up a fourth place trophy. A jubilant Portugal took first place with Spain in second place and France in third place.

The Acorn English Surf Team consisted of, Mens Open; Alan Stokes, Tom Butler, Ollie Adams and Johnny Fryer. Ladies Open; Sarah Beardmore and Gabi Rowe. Longboard; Ben Howarth and Adam Griffiths. Senior; Tyson Greenaway. Masters; Mike Raven. Mens Bodyboard; Rob Barber and Remi Geffroy. Ladies Bodyboard; Tabi Fox.

The English Surfing Federation Chairman Andy Sturt personally thanked the team along with team manager Paulie Jeffrys and team judges Norman Wright and Arron Evans for their diligent efforts and outstanding team spirit. Thanks were also given to the team sponsors for making it all possible: Acorn Blu, MOJO, Rowes Honda, Protest, Sanuk, Newquay Activity Centre, Adams Surfboards, Adventure Cornwall, Alder, Carve Surf Magazine, Carnmarth Hotel, Cornwall College, Down the Line, Kahuna Restaurant, O’Neill, Patagonia, Prosport Sunscreen, Seabase, Snugg Wetsuits, Sunset Surf Shop, Surf Check Live.